The Worth of a Beginning

The artist is always beginning. Any work of art which is not a beginning, an invention, a discovery is of little worth.
– Ezra Pound –

To you, this may simply seem like the beginning of a blog. To me, however, it is much more. This has been a long time coming, and by that I may or may not be hinting to the fact that it took me over 8 months just to complete my “About Me” section. No, not because I’m so incredibly interesting that it took me 8 months to describe my marvelous life. Not even close! In fact, only a smidgen of the latter is true; it took 8 months merely because of my marvelous life. Not that I don’t enjoy my life–because I certainly do–but it’s not like screenwriters are flocking to my door bidding on the movie rights.
My point is, life happens. Jobs change, people move, the government shuts down, jobs change again, people move again and before you know it, you’ve been married a year and still haven’t changed your name (but that’s a different ordeal altogether). A life like mine is anything but bland. It’s eventful enough to keep you from getting bored but average enough to steer clear of being envied. It has it’s fair share of amazing triumphs but also knows the meaning of sorrow. Would I swap places with a millionaire so I could live the lavish lifestyle we all (peraphs secretly) crave? Heck yes! But inevitably, I would go running back to my own life. Why? Because no matter how mediocre one might think their own life is, it is still that…their own. And no matter how much it may be worth to outsiders, it is priceless to those actually living it.
Ezra Pound said it best when he said that “any work of art which is not a beginning is of little worth.” This is in fact a beginning, but unlike most stories, I’m not looking for an end.
So, without further adieu, welcome to a piece of my art; welcome to a beginning I hope never ends.

Leave a comment